Curriculum at Eastfield

Our curriculum is divided into two stages:

Early Years – Nursery and Reception (referred to as the Foundation stage)

Key Stage 1 – Years One and Two

Foundation stage

The Early Years curriculum is organised into seven areas of learning:

3 Prime Areas; Communication and Language, Physical Development and Personal, Social and Emotional Development and

4 Specific Areas; Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Design.

Nursery and Reception follow a 3 year rolling programme of half termly topics and children are actively involved in the planning process. 

The carefully planned learning activities that we provide support children to learn in one or several areas of learning at the same time; for example children develop their physical coordination skills whilst being creative. We have a dedicated outdoor area in both our nursery and reception areas.

Key stage 1

At Eastfield we follow the National Curriculum.  For children in Years One and Two the curriculum includes:

Art and Design


Design and Technology





Physical Education

Personal, Social and Health Education

Religious Education



Collective Worship

This is set within the context of assemblies. We are proud of the diversity of our school community and hold assemblies that reflect and celebrate the traditions of the school and wider community. Every effort is made to show sensitivity to personal faiths and include all pupils and staff in collective worship. A parent may make a request for their children to be wholly or partly excused form attendance at religious worship in our school.